is the largest and most beautiful cave in Higher
Kiln Quarry. Although the origional entrance chamber (partly
destroyed by quarrying, see picture above) may have been a one-man
show cave as early as the end of the eighteenth century, the
main part of the cave was not dicovered until serious interest
revived in the years before the last war. In 1939 two caves in
the Higher Kiln quarry were found to be of importance; Reed's
Cave was penetrated for a considerable distance by members of
the Devon Spelaeological Society including, Edgar Reed and Wifred
'Squeak' Joint, while work was then in progress on the first
stage of the excavation of Joint Mitnor
is a part of the Baker's Pit system
and there are a number of voice connections with the rest of
the system. The formations in this cave are in an excellent state
of preservation because access is limited. There are a number
of nice fins and crystal pools and the unique "Little Man" formation.
The cave provides an ideal hibernating spot for the local horseshoe
bats in winter since they are not disturbed in this cave.
long crawl from the present entrance to Reed's Cave leads through
a squeeze into a small grotto that leads on into Easter Chamber.
The floor of this chamber is littered with boulders but around
the edge of the chamber are crystal pools and formations such as
the Shark's fin. Other passages lead on from this chamber to the
formation known as the "Little Man" which lies directly
below the tomb of the Cabell family in the churchyard above.